Us Norway Free Trade Agreement

Norway is currently our 44th largest trading partner, with a total of $10.4 billion (two and also) merchandise trade in 2019. Exports of goods totaled $3.9 billion; Imports of goods amounted to $6.5 billion. In 2019, the merchandise trade deficit with Norway was $2.6 billion. «The evaluation is extremely useful for those who want to know About Norwegian Trade Policy. But one thing is missing: the mention of our bilateral trade agreements. The EEA is a larger agreement – but this omission still seems very surprising,» Medin said. Although EFTA is not a customs union and Member States have the full right to conclude bilateral trade agreements for third countries, it has a coordinated trade policy. [3] As a result, their Member States have concluded free trade agreements with the EU and a number of other countries. [3] To participate in the EU internal market, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are contracting parties to the European Economic Area (EEA) agreement with the rules set by the EFTA Supervisory Authority and the EFTA Court of Justice. Instead, Switzerland has a series of bilateral agreements with the EU. For example, Norway is currently negotiating a free trade agreement with China`s economic superpower. Norway currently has 29 bilateral free trade agreements with 41 countries. Trade in this context accounts for 10% of Norway`s international trade.

The main difference between the EEC and EFTA was that, unlike the former, they had not gone through common external tariffs: each EFTA member was free to set their individual tariffs against or its individual free trade agreements with non-EFTA countries. Norway`s merchandise trade with the EU has a deficit of 2.5 billion euros in 2019. Almost 60% of Norway`s exports are exported to the EU. EFTA was historically one of the two dominant trading blocs in Western Europe, but it is now much smaller and closely linked to its historical competitor, the European Union. It was created on 3 May 1960 as an alternative trading bloc for European states that were unable or unable to join the European Economic Community (EEC), then the EU`s main predecessor. The Stockholm Agreement (1960 establishing EFTA) was signed on 4 January 1960 in the Swedish capital by seven countries (known as the «Seven Outsiders»: Austria, Denmark, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom). [5] A revised agreement, the Vaduz Convention, was signed on 21 June 2001 and came into force on 1 June 2002. [6] In addition, the WTO, which acts as a multilateral trade agreement between its 164 member states, is going through a crisis that many see as a crisis.


About the Author

The Author has not yet added any info about himself